:: Closer to the Equator ::

Wishaw, the place I have called home for the past 30 years, 3 decades living my life on this tiny, predominantly rainy and grey corner of the planet. Don’t get me wrong there are many things I love about living here. Mainly that I am close by to the people I love the most in the world, particularly my family. Also, that, on sunnier days, a short walk to The Clydeside or a short drive to somewhere like Loch Lomond really helps you to appreciate the beauty of the environment that surrounds us. I love being close enough to cities such as Glasgow and Edinburgh, especially, due to the vast amount of musical events that are on offer. We have a lot to offer as a nation however, like anywhere it also has its downsides.

For instance, for the past 12 years, I’ve been following a career path I am not in any way passionate about, because, to be honest, it pays the bills and it’s only over the past year or so that I have truly started to learn more about myself and what I am actually passionate about. I do have a lot to thank my job for (or the wage it provides)… it has funded my material items such as my home and my car as well as funding my many adventures including, Australia, America, Europe and more. However, the more I adventured the more something in me was screaming for change.

Through mindfulness and meditation I learned to slow down and think about what I really wanted. What is it that I want from life? This short fleeting moment on the rock we call home?!

Things I learned that I was certain about were:

  • Companionship
  • Creativity
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Happiness

But how do I attain this I wondered? Well, it just so happens that as much as I felt overwhelmed by the thought that my life was leading me down a path I didn’t want to go down anymore, and almost felt stuck in a situation that was going nowhere. When I started to put my mind on a more positive path, become more confident about what it was that I wanted, I started to attract these things into my life without trying.

  • Companionship
    • Rigby – bought on impulse, best impulse buy of my life!
    • Richy – came out of the blue, turned my life upside down, in the best way possible!
  • Creativity
    • Passion for Art + Photography came back.
    • A burning desire to pursue a more solid career in this area.
    • Learning Spanish
  • Adventure
    • Since September 2016 visited –
      • Manchester
      • Lewis
      • Dumfries + Galloway
      • Tenerife
    • Further plans this year to visit –
      • Rotterdam + Amsterdam
      • Austria
      • Lewis
      • Tenerife (yes, again)
  • Family
    • Living with my boyfriend & dog has brought a sense of family life into, which once was, my quiet, single persons, flat. Coming from a huge family I was always used to the hustle & bustle of family life and this pair like to keep me on my toes.
  • Happiness
    • Appreciating that Happiness is not a destination, but a way of life, a way of being and something you work on and obtain on a daily basis by following your gut and your passions in life.

As an independent, creative person who loves to travel, it shouldn’t come as a surprise to anyone who knows me well enough, that 30 years, rooted to one place, just isn’t the life for me. Therefore since October/November last year, Richy and I have been putting plans in place to try the sunshine life and become expat’s in Tenerife.

Now that the people who do know me well, have picked themselves up off the floor, I know what your first reaction to this news will likely be… ‘but what if?’ …well for that proposition, I put to you…  ‘but what if’… we all listened the ‘what if’s’ of our lives, surely we wouldn’t get past the front door most days?!

Mortgages, Cars, Dogs, Jobs… we have thought of it all. Yes, I have a house to let or sell, yes I have a car to sell, a dog to be transferred and a ‘career’ to ‘give up’  and a new one to obtain but instead of being filled with dread or fear. I have never been more excited in all my life, about anything, not even Disney World made me feel this excited.

I understand Brexit may change things, that the economy may not be all that strong just now, but if not now, when? One of human’s biggest errors, is thinking we have more time than we do. Our lives are short, each new day is never promised. So, just let me worry about the finances and you can worry about booking one of many flights out to visit us.

If it all falls flat on it’s face, what’s the worst that can happen? We come home. We get new jobs. We start over. The edge of your comfort zone is where your life truly begins and I honestly cannot wait to cross that line and roll with the punches that it throws. I have never felt more secure in a relationship or more excited about what the future may bring as what I do now.

I know I am going to meet more bumps along the way, and who knows, after six months in the sunshine I may well be back, but I will be back with stories of the trial and tribulations of living life on Sunshine Island.

Thirties you may well be, the most interesting ones yet!

blog-image

 

 

